Home > Wyrd Things > Atheist 12-Step

Atheist 12-Step

Stolen with pride from http://freethoughtblogs.com/axp/2011/10/03/introductions-matt-dillahunty/ sadly my de-conversion happened ages ago and I’m a firm believer in never regretting any action I’ve taken. My stance is that if it’s something I am likely to regret, then don’t do it. If it is something that turns out to be wrong after the fact, live with the mistake and learn from it without regret.

1. I’m not powerless and my life is not unmanageable. I’m responsible for my own actions and I can change my mind and my behavior – though I’ll occasionally need assistance from other humans.

2. I’ve come to recognize that I’m not divorced from sanity and that I don’t require any “Power greater than ourselves” to fix me.

3. I’ve made a decision to base my life decisions on reason and evidence and this lead, inevitably, to the rejection of god-claims…but I wouldn’t turn my  life over to a god even if one existed. It’s my life…go live vicariously through someone else.

4. I have made and continue to make a searching and fearless moral inventory of myself. (One of only 3 ‘steps’ that I’ll support, as written.)

5. I’ve admitted to others that I’m wrong…but I see no need to admit this to a god, even if one existed.

6. I won’t be needing any gods to remove defects of character.

7. I won’t be humbly asking any gods to remove shortcomings. (Are there really 12 steps, if so many seem to say the same thing? Is this the ‘let go and let god’ program, or what?)

8. I didn’t make a list of people I’ve harmed, but I’m willing to make amends where they’re needed.

9. I’ve made amends…where possible. This 12-step thing is really tedious.

10. I’ll continue to take personal inventory and admit when I’m wrong.

11. I have no use for prayer and couldn’t care less what “God’s will” is.

12. Nope…no spiritual awakenings here – but I will be carrying a message to others.

Posted here because I am too damn lazy busy to write something myself

 

 

 

 

Categories: Wyrd Things Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Want to flame? Go ahead I'm wearing an asbestos kilt!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

